Loading...
 

2.6.7 The Edit Contact Window

in-edit (perhaps this should be a child page under the Log Window page???)

The Edit Contact Dialog window can be called up from the Edit > Edit Last Contact menu item in the Entry Window, or by pressing Ctrl+Y, or by right-clicking on a contact in the Log Window and selecting the Edit Contact menu item.

Image

Using this dialog, you can make changes to contacts after they have been logged.
Some fields, such as 'Country Prefix', 'Mult 1' and 'Mult 2' can't be updated because they are calculated automatically by the program. If the Country Prefix for a contact is incorrect, the solution is usually to download and import the latest wl_cty.dat file and rescore the contest. Note that changing the Country Prefix will affect your claimed score, but it will have no effect on the score as it is calculated by the contest sponsors, as the Country Prefix does not appear anywhere in the Cabrillo file. There are no penalties for incorrect claimed scores.

 Tip

When the program doesn't allow you to log a contact the way you want it, you can either force-log it (Ctrl+Alt+Enter) or log it as the program expects it, and then edit the contact in this screen.

Example: A KG4 station calls and gives a state as exchange, this KG4 is in the USA. The program expects this KG4 to be in Guantanamo Bay and doesn't allow entering a state but wants a number. Enter a number which the program expects and edit the contact in this screen. Of course you have to update CTY.DAT to add the KG4 station so this won't happen again. See the Tips and Tricks section how to do this. Make a note using Ctrl+N so you can update the qso later.


When a contact has been updated, you can either click on the Update button to save the changes, or you can move to the next contact up or down in the Log window using one of the Up and Down arrows. When you click on the up or down arrow key after making changes to the current contact, the following screen will be shown.

Image

  • Yes - Save the changes made and move on to the next or previous qso in the log.
  • No - Don't save the changes made and move on to the next or previous qso in the log.
  • Cancel - Go back to the qso which has been changed but not saved.

 

Updating the timestamp from a qso can be done from within the Entry window callsign field. Entries starting with "T" and four numeric digits will update the current row time in the log. Check out the chapter 'After the contest' for more information.

1. Button Assignments

  • Update - Update the log entry and exit the dialog returning to the last qso in the log.
  • Delete - Removes a log entry from the current selected contest and exits the dialog returning to the last qso in the log.
    • When pressing the deleted button in a contest the following message will appear:
      • Yes, will move the qso to the DELETEDQS 'contest'
      • No, will cancel deleting the qso.


Image

    • When using multi-user mode it is only possible to delete a qso made on the station which made the qso.
      • Message: "You may not delete contacts logged by another station while in Multi-User mode. Ask station #radionumber to delete it. Delete not performed!"
  • Help - Show the help file for this window.
  • Exit - Exit this dialog without updating the log entry.
  • Up Arrow - Go to the next entry towards the beginning of the log. If the current log entry was updated, you will be prompted to save it before moving to the next entry.
  • Down Arrow - Go to the next entry towards the end of the log. If the current log entry was updated, you will be prompted to save it before moving to the next entry.

2. How to Permanently Delete a Contact?

After a contact has been moved to the DELETEDQS 'contest', it can be permanently removed from the database by deleing it from the DELETEDQS contest. First, select the DELETEDQS contest. Then select the QSO you wish to delete in the Log window. Press the Delete key, or right-click and select Delete Contact from the pop-up menu. The following dialog will appear:

Image

It is also possible to delete an entire contest, including all of its QSOs, from the log, but this is done from the Contest Setup dialog, not from the Edit Contact dialog.

3. How to Recover a Deleted QSO? (revisions thanks to W9WI and K0RC)

It's not a trivial process, but it is possible to recover an inadvertently-deleted QSO. You'll need to copy the QSO from the DELETEDQS contest, change its Contest ID, then paste it into the contest it was deleted from. As always, back up the database file before you begin.

  • Open the DELETEDQS contest in the database.
  • Left click on the contact you want to restore, then right click, and select 'Copy > ADIF String'.
  • Open Notepad.
  • Right click in the Notepad window and select 'Paste', or just hit Ctrl+V
  • Hit ENTER a few times to put some blank lines after the ADIF string in Notepad.
  • Open the contest you want to paste the contact into.
  • Left click on a contact in that log (it doesn't matter which contact). Then right click, and select 'Copy > Copy ADIF String'.
  • Right click in the Notepad window and select 'Paste', or just hit Ctrl+V
  • In each contact, you'll see a CONTEST_ID tag that looks like this:

<CONTEST_ID:8>DELETEDQ or <CONTEST_ID:10>ARRL-SS-CW

  • Change the string in the first QSO ( the one you want to undelete) to match the string in the second QSO. Don't forget to copy any spaces that may lie between the end of the contest name and the < character of the next tag.
  • Change the <TIME_ON:6>hhmmss field in the first contact by one second. For example, if it reads <TIME_ON:6>195747, add one second so that it reads <TIME_ON:6>195748. If the time happens to end in 59, subtract one second instead, e.g. change <TIME_ON:6>200359 to <TIME_ON:6>200358.
  • Select the first (modified) QSO, everything from the beginning of the first line to the end of the first <EOR>.
  • Right click in the Notepad window and select 'Copy', or hit Ctrl+C.
  • Right click in the Log Window and select 'Paste contacts'.
  • Check to be sure the QSO has been restored, and Rescore Current Contest (on the Tools menu) to get credit for it.

4. Why Move and Not Delete?

A deleted contact in a contest is not permanently deleted, but moved to the DELETEDQS contest, just in case it was deleted accidentally and you need to recover it. The contact can be permanently deleted by deleting it from the DELETEDQS contest. Once a contact has been moved to the DELETEDQS contest, information about which contest it was originally logged in is lost, but it can be recovered as described in the previous section.

Last Modification: 09 May 2014 10:47:32 EDT by VE3KI.